Ray Bradbury: Dark Carnival

Bibliographic data

Ray Bradbury: Dark Carnival
Ray Bradbury
  • Author: Ray Bradbury
  • Title: Dark Carnival
  • Year: 1947
  • Published by: Arkham House
  • Country: United States
  • Genre: Short stories

Synopsis of “Dark Carnival”

“Dark Carnival,” published in the United States by Arkham House in 1947, stands as one of Ray Bradbury’s earliest short story collections and is widely regarded as a pivotal work in the evolution of American science fiction. This collection assembles 27 pieces penned between 1943 and 1947, with several having been previously featured in magazines. Bradbury plunges readers into a shadowy and often unsettling world where the mundane intertwines with the supernatural and the macabre.

The tales within “Dark Carnival” traverse a range of themes, from death and loss to alienation and the fear of the unknown. With his lyrical and evocative prose, Bradbury crafts haunting atmospheres that capture the essence of the human condition. Through his narratives, he beckons readers to ponder the nature of fear, the inevitability of death, and the fragility of human existence.

While “Dark Carnival” is not strictly a science fiction collection, the fantastical and supernatural elements Bradbury employs foreshadow the themes and styles he would delve deeper into in his subsequent works. This collection serves as an early testament to Bradbury’s literary genius and his ability to seamlessly blend the real with the fantastical in deeply emotional and resonant narratives.

Content of “Dark Carnival”

  • The Homecoming
  • Skeleton
  • The Jar
  • The Lake
  • The Maiden
  • The Tombstone
  • The Smiling People
  • The Emissary
  • The Traveler
  • The Small Assassin
  • The Crowd
  • Reunion
  • The Handler
  • The Coffin
  • Interim
  • Jack-in-the-Box
  • The Scythe
  • Let’s Play ‘Poison’
  • Uncle Einar
  • The Wind
  • The Night
  • There Was An Old Woman
  • The Dead Man
  • The Man Upstairs
  • The Night Sets
  • Cistern
  • The Next In Line

Nuevo en Lecturia

H. G. Wells: The Stolen Bacillus

H. G. Wells: The Stolen Bacillus

“The Stolen Bacillus,” a story by H. G. Wells published in 1894, is a tale that combines elements of suspense and black humor. A bacteriologist receives in his laboratory a
Mary Shelley - The Trial of Love

Mary Shelley: The Trial of Love 

“The Trial of Love,” a short story by Mary Shelley published in 1834, tells the story of Angeline, a young orphan who lives in a convent and maintains a secret
Ray Bradbury: The Handler

Ray Bradbury: The Handler

“The Handler,” a short story by Ray Bradbury published in 1947, tells the story of Mr. Benedict, a man who runs a funeral business, a church, and a cemetery, all
Agatha Christie - La señal en el cielo

Agatha Christie: The Sign in the Sky

“The Sign in the Sky” is a story by Agatha Christie selected by Jorge Luis Borges and Adolfo Bioy Casares for their anthology “The Best Police Stories” (1962). The plot