Isaac Asimov: The Complete Robot

Bibliographic data

Isaac Asimov: The Complete Robot
Isaac Asimov
  • Author: Isaac Asimov
  • Title: The Complete Robot
  • Year: 1982
  • Published by: Doubleday
  • Country: United States
  • Genre: Science Fiction, Short stories

Synopsis of “The Complete Robot”

“The Complete Robot,” published in 1982 by Doubleday, is an essential collection of science fiction short stories by Isaac Asimov, spanning nearly four decades of his work from 1939 to 1977. This volume brings together 31 stories, making up almost the entirety of Asimov’s writings on robots. Many of these tales had previously been published in magazines and other anthologies, including the iconic “I, Robot” from 1950.

The collection serves as a deep and multifaceted exploration of the relationship between humans and robots, focusing on recurring themes in Asimov’s work such as “the Three Laws of Robotics.” These laws act as an ethical and logical framework guiding the interactions between humans and machines, and often serve as the starting point for complex moral and ethical dilemmas.

“The Complete Robot” is not merely an anthology; it is a compendium that encapsulates Asimov’s vision on robotics and artificial intelligence—topics that have gained even more relevance in the contemporary world. This book is a must-read for any science fiction enthusiast and provides a comprehensive introduction to Asimov’s robotic universe.

Content of “The Complete Robot”

  • A Boy’s Best Friend
  • Sally
  • Someday
  • Point of View
  • Think!
  • True Love
  • Robot AL-76 Goes Astray
  • Victory Unintentional
  • Stranger in Paradise
  • Light Verse
  • Segregationist
  • Robbie
  • Let’s Get Together
  • Mirror Image
  • The Tercentenary Incident
  • First Law
  • Runaround
  • Reason
  • Catch That Rabbit
  • Liar!
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Lenny
  • Galley Slave
  • Little Lost Robot
  • Risk
  • Escape!
  • Evidence
  • The Evitable Conflict
  • Feminine Intuition
  • … That Thou Art Mindful of Him
  • The Bicentennial Man

Nuevo en Lecturia

H. G. Wells: The Stolen Bacillus

H. G. Wells: The Stolen Bacillus

“The Stolen Bacillus,” a story by H. G. Wells published in 1894, is a tale that combines elements of suspense and black humor. A bacteriologist receives in his laboratory a
Mary Shelley - The Trial of Love

Mary Shelley: The Trial of Love 

“The Trial of Love,” a short story by Mary Shelley published in 1834, tells the story of Angeline, a young orphan who lives in a convent and maintains a secret
Ray Bradbury: The Handler

Ray Bradbury: The Handler

“The Handler,” a short story by Ray Bradbury published in 1947, tells the story of Mr. Benedict, a man who runs a funeral business, a church, and a cemetery, all
Agatha Christie - La señal en el cielo

Agatha Christie: The Sign in the Sky

“The Sign in the Sky” is a story by Agatha Christie selected by Jorge Luis Borges and Adolfo Bioy Casares for their anthology “The Best Police Stories” (1962). The plot